Fighting Fears, Frustrations, and Funding Issues.

Standard

 

After doing my blog post on The Red Dress and Trumpets Not Guns, I decided that the best thing I could do would be to start a music program.  I got together with a couple of friends and what we ended up with was Rapsodic.  I have to say that it’s one of the most terrifying things I’ve ever done.  Starting something like this makes me a grown up who is responsible for things.  It’s not like I haven’t been a grown up who is responsible for things before, it just means that I’m going to be in charge. People are going to want answers from me.  I have lots of answers, but I’m going to have to banish a lot of self doubt to really finally be in charge.  I often feel like I’m not able to ask people for their thoughts if I’m in charge, but I remind myself that asking for help is the exact way a person who’s in charge might have to respond.  (Reminder #1 – Always ask for help.)

Everyone who I’ve told about it thinks that it’s a fantastic idea.  Unfortunately, I feel very much like I’m beating people over the head with it.  Also, unfortunately, I think that may be my only option.  I feel that this could help a lot of families and schools, so I don’t feel like it would be fair to them for me to back down.  I have to keep fighting when I am faced with apathy from other people.  This is MY city, and I can’t sit back and expect other people to fix it.  I keep telling myself that all the effort that I’m going to have to put in is going to be worth the return on investment.  (Reminder #2 – Don’t let other people’s apathy become your attitude.)

Right now, I have so many things to do that I’ve never done, like file paperwork to become a 501(c)3, come up with contracts for the parents of the children who get instruments, and figure out how to get the funding to make sure that all of that is done correctly.  I’ve got to choose a board of directors, which is causing my chest to hurt.  I just keep making lists and researching how to do everything I need to do.  I’m reading up on all these things so that when I do them the first time, I do it as economically as possible. (Reminder #3 – Research first. It’s better to delay and do things right than jump in and do things wrong.)

What I’d like is for everyone to pass on the information, even if you don’t care, please pass it on to someone you think might care.  If everybody could pass on the information to five people, that would be an amazing thing for getting started.  I have had some wonderfully enthusiastic people who have passed it on already, and I’m grateful.  I’ve had people helping me out as well, and I’m eternally grateful to them as well.  If you’re interested yourself, feel free to follow all the social media things.

http://rapsodic.org/

http://www.facebook.com/rapsodic.chattanooga

and on Twitter – @rapsodicchatt

 

7 responses »

  1. Alice, hang in there. Anything new takes time to startup. You have a great idea and it has a lot of purpose behind it. You have my support in anyway I can give it. Perhaps you need to address some churches to get behind you, they have some great resources for doing music. Maybe that would be a good start. You can do this.

  2. Have you talked to the people at the Folk School? They might be able to offer some words of advice, if nothing else. It really is a wonderful idea, and I cannot even imagine how muh work it is. If there is something I could help with, please let me know.

  3. Ok, I’ve been about this post (and the convos we’ve had about this topic) and am finally ready to respond. You asked me if people hide from me when I talked about the Walk. I can now answer resoundingly YES!

    I got a bill for $1000 for the park today. Wow! So, I was talking to my stepdad and told him this. And I asked him if he had voted for the Walk yet – the $500 from Good.is. And he said that he clicked the link, but it asked for his email. HIS EMAIL! So he wouldn’t do it. Not his SSN or anything but just his email. So, he wouldn’t vote. >_<

    And I just figured out today that a twitter friend blocked my charity account from following her. Now, this isn't a person I've meet IRL, but I thought we were friends. And she isn't one of those sometimes users. She's a power user. And she blocked my charity that is trying to prevent child abuse.

    So, the long answer is yeah, people do all kinds of stupid things when confronted with people who are trying to make a difference. I have decided that it falls back on them – if that is how they want to live, so be it.

Leave a Reply

